In April 2011 the Public Sector Equality Duty came into force in England, Scotland and Wales. All public bodies have a duty to ensure that people with certain characteristics are protected from discrimination. The eight protected characteristics/groups are:

  • Age (not applicable to pupils in schools)
  • Disability
  • Sex
  • Gender reassignment
  • Race
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Religion or belief
  • Sexual orientation

In line with our duties under the Equality Act, we have assessed our existing practices in relation to equality and considered objectives to help us improve further. Follow this link to see our equality targets and action plan.

Further to this all school policies will be assessed for compliance with the new equality legislation when they are reviewed or when new policies are produced. This pro-forma will be completed and attached to all school policies.

Bowland High Awards